December 10, 2008  •  Gertie & Mary  •  Articles - Cyrano de Bergerac

The “Great Performances” taping of the most recent Broadway production of Cyrano de Bergerac — starring Oscar and Tony Award winner Kevin Kline in the title role — will make its debut on PBS stations around the country Jan. 7, 2009.

The production, which co-stars Daniel Sunjata and Jennifer Garner, will air at 8 PM ET; check local listings.

Cyrano de Bergerac was produced for television by Ellen M. Krass with Bonnie Comley, Stewart F. Lane and David Horn as executive producers. Matthew Diamond directed for television, with Gary Bradley as editor.

Edmond Rostand’s 1897 verse classic, featuring an adaptation by the late Anthony Burgess, began previews on Broadway Oct. 12, 2007, and officially opened Nov. 1, 2007. David Leveaux directed the production that also starred Euan Morton as Ligniere, Max Baker as Ragueneau, Chris Sarandon as Comte de Guiche, John Douglas Thompson as Le Bret, Concetta Tomei as Roxane’s Duenna, Tom Bloom as Montfleury, Peter Jay Fernandez as Carbon de Castel-Jaloux, MacIntyre Dixon as Jodelet and Carman Lacivita as Vicomte de Valvert.

The ensemble comprised Nance Williamson, Piter Marek, Baylen Thomas, Daniel Stewart Sherman, Keith Eric Chappelle, Thomas Schall, Davis Duffield, Alexander Sovronsky, Lucas Papaelias, Fred Rose, Stephen Balantzian, Amefika El-Amin, Ginifer King, Kate Guyton and Leenya Rideout.

Cyrano de Bergerac, according to press notes, concerns “the soulful poet/philosopher and brilliant swordsman Cyrano (Kline), a cadet in the French Army, [who] falls for the beautiful, strong-willed Roxane (Garner), but is too ashamed of his large nose to tell her. Instead, when he learns that she loves the handsome Christian de Neuvillette (Sunjata), his dim-witted comrade, he pens poetry and love letters to Roxane on Christian’s behalf. After many years, the truth is revealed. Will love or beauty conquer all?”

The creative team included scenic design by Tom Pye, costume design by Gregory Gale, lighting design by Donald Holder and sound design by David Van Tiegham.

For more information visit

Comments are closed.