March 16, 2011  •  Gertie & Mary  •  Arthur - Articles - Events

The DALLAS International Film Festival presented by Cadillac announced today that Academy Award nominee Steve James will be the first documentary filmmaker in the festival’s history to receive the DALLAS Star Award. Also revealed is the full schedule of features and shorts that will be screened throughout the festival’s 11-day run (March 31 – April 10, 2010)

The DALLAS International Film Festival presented by Cadillac will kick off on March 31 with the Opening Night Gala encompassing the Dallas Arts District. Following a red carpet entrance, over 1,000 guests will join the festival in paying tribute to two incredible artists: actress Ann-Margret who will receive the DALLAS Star Award and DALLAS IFF founder and Chairman Emeritus, Liener Temerlin. Temerlin’s dedication, enthusiasm and the respect he garners throughout the arts community propelled the DALLAS IFF to being a festival that was instantly labeled as “one to watch”. The Trammell and Margaret Crow Collection of Asian Art in partnership with SMU’s Temerlin Advertising Institute are the supporting sponsors for the Temerlin Tribute. Margot and Ross Perot are acting as Honorary Chairs of the Tribute.

With 157 films representing 26 countries, nine World Premieres and six US Premieres, the DALLAS International Film Festival is heading into its 5th year with a wide-ranging slate of features and shorts that promise to appeal to film-lovers of all age-groups and ethnicities. The lineup is highlighted by highly anticipated new works from festival and independent favorites such as Morgan Spurlock’s THE GREATEST MOVIE EVER SOLD, James Marsh’s PROJECT NIM and Miranda July’s THE FUTURE, and is rich with stars including (in alphabetical order) Maria Bello, Russell Brand, Pierce Brosnan, Jennifer Connelly, Jennifer Coolidge, Catherine Deneuve, Kat Dennings, Gérard Depardieu, Jennifer Garner, Paul Giamatti, Summer Glau, Amber Heard, Helen Hunt, Derek Jacobi, Justin Kirk, Josh Lucas, Ann-Margret, Heather Matarazzo, Helen Mirren, Lou Taylor Pucci, Dennis Quaid, Michael Sheen, Mira Sorvino, Marisa Tomei, John Waters and Carrie Underwood.


Comments are closed.